## DISPENSATIONS TO TOWN AND PARISH COUNCILS

# **Report By: Head of Legal and Democratic Services**

## **Purpose**

1. To consider two applications for dispensations received from Bartestree and Lugwardine Parish Council, and Holme Lacy Parish Council.

## **Financial Implications**

2. None

## **Background**

- 3. Under the Code of Conduct, town and parish councillors are prohibited from participating in matters in which they have a prejudicial interest. In the normal course of events this would not prejudice the proper working of their councils. There are instances, however, when the number of councillors who would be prohibited from participating will impede the transaction of business.
- 4. The Relevant Authorities (Standards Committee) (Dispensations) Regulations 2002 give Standards Committees the power to grant dispensations in circumstances where the number of councillors that are prohibited from participating in the business of the council exceeds 50% of those who are entitled or required to participate.
- 5. In each case, the councillor must request the dispensation in writing, setting out why the dispensation is desirable. The Standards Committee must then decide whether, in all the circumstances, it is appropriate to grant the dispensation.
- 6. The 2002 regulations also specify two circumstances where a dispensation may not be granted; first, in respect of participation in business conducted more than 4 years after the date on which the dispensation was granted; and, secondly in relation to prejudicial interests concerning attendance at a scrutiny committee meeting which is scrutinising the activity of any other committee to which the member belongs, or for executive members in relation to their own portfolios.

#### **Bartestree and Lugwardine Parish Council**

7. All eleven members of Bartestree and Lugwardine Parish Council have requested a dispensation in relation to Bartestree Village Hall, lasting for the maximum period of four years. Their quorum is six. The eleven members are:

Mr. Mike Wilson
Mr. Alan Wood
Mr. Nigel Shore
Mr. Nigel Alexander
Mr. Geoff Davies
Mr. Wargent
Mr. Geoff Davies
Mr. Mike Greenfield
Mr. Ron Williams

Ms. Julie Jones

8. All are members of the Village Hall Committee, and the dispensation will enable them to discuss village hall matters.

#### **Holme Lacy Parish Council**

9. Five out of the seven members of Holme Lacy Parish Council have requested a dispensation in relation to Holme Lacy Village Hall, lasting for the maximum period of four years. Their quorum is three. The five members are:

Ms. Belinda Gwynne

Mr. Kevin Lofthouse

Mr. Keith Bishop

Mr. Trevor Williams

Mr. Gordon Lawson

10. All are village hall trustees, and the dispensation will enable them to discuss village hall matters.

#### RECOMMENDATION

- THAT (a) the Committee grants the eleven members of Bartestree and Lugwardine Parish Council named in the report, a dispensation in respect of Bartestree Village Hall, and
  - (b) the Committee grants the five members of Holme Lacy Parish Council named in the report, a dispensation in respect of Holme Lacy Village Hall

#### **BACKGROUND PAPERS**

- Application from the Clerk to Bartestree and Lugwardine Parish Council dated 18 June 2007
- Application from the Clerk to Holme Lacy Parish Council dated 25 May 2007.